Jeb and George by Perry Mann

June 12, 2015, Perry Mann letter to Charleston Gazette

Editor,

Jeb Bush is a presidential candidate. Before the world knew it, he was faced with the legacy of his brother’s two terms, one of which was gifted by the Supreme Court. He first accepted George’s legacy and then after a conference with advisors, no doubt, Jeb decided he would not have invaded Iraq.

Molly Ivins comes to mind when George W. Bush is mentioned. She knew George well, too well. In fact when he was running for governor of Texas, she, column after column, dissected his personality, politics, morals and his woeful lack of what one needs to be governor or holder of any office. I read them all and have not forgotten them and remembered them when George ran for president. He and Dick Cheney lied repeatedly in order to bring war to Iraq. The world now knows the horrors such a decision has spawned.

Reading in the July 15, 2015 edition of The Progressive Populist, I chanced to read an article titled “The Bush Years: An Explainer”  by Tina Dupuy. In it she characterized George W. Bush. I read it and read it, because it encompassed totally the man and his devastating legacy.

“If George were a great president, it would bring up nostalgia for a storied time in American history. But he wasn’t. He was a brutish, dim-witted, anti-science, disastrous, shorted-sighted zealot who perverted patriotism to mean legal immunity. He tanked our economy and we’re still reeling from his foreign policy fiascos.”

If I were Jeb Bush I would I say I love my brother but he was a terrible president. It will take this nation a long time to recover from George’s mendacious leadership and his association with Dick Cheney.

Perry Mann, POB 1416, Hinton, WV. Phone 304-466-3441.

About Sam's Branch

I joined the Peace Corps in 1961 as West Virginia’s first volunteer. Go to Amazon.com to order my book Imagonna: Peace Corps Memories. I am the eighth generation of my family born in the Big Coal River Valley of West Virginia. My father and grandfather were underground coal miners. I have a chemical engineering degree from West Virginia University (WVU). After training to make sidewinder missiles, I joined the Peace Corps and taught chemistry and coached the track team at a secondary school in Nigeria. Since that time, I was WVU’s first full time foreign student advisor and worked in urban outreach, organic farming, construction labor, and high school teaching. I recently retired from the board of directors of the West Virginia Highlands Conservancy (wvhighlands.org), and recently retired from the board of directors of the West Virginia Kanawha State Forest Foundation (ksff.org). I am still on the board of the Labor History Association and the West Virginia Environmental Education Association and recently joined the board of the West Virginia Civil Liberties Union. I am active in the campaign to stop the destructive practice of mountain top removal strip mining in the Appalachian Mountains. You may contact me at martinjul@aol.com or my blog samsbranch.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

