Quotes from Two Books

From Balkan Ghosts by Robert Kaplan:

…the carrion stench of old people.

Like any mistress, the West excites and fascinates us, but our relationship with it is episodic and superficial. (Concerning Greece)

From Dark Star Safari by Paul Theroux:

…it is human nature to worship what we fear. p76
..feeling that odd sense of levitation that comes from being naked,
flat on one’s back on a summer night p69

There is a point at which hysteria is indistinguishable from belief. P76

Christian missionaries have been peregrinating and proselytizing in Africa for upward of 1,400 years… p66

About Sam's Branch

I joined the Peace Corps in 1961 as West Virginia’s first volunteer. Go to Amazon.com to order my book Imagonna: Peace Corps Memories. I am the eighth generation of my family born in the Big Coal River Valley of West Virginia. My father and grandfather were underground coal miners. I have a chemical engineering degree from West Virginia University (WVU). After training to make sidewinder missiles, I joined the Peace Corps and taught chemistry and coached the track team at a secondary school in Nigeria. Since that time, I was WVU’s first full time foreign student advisor and worked in urban outreach, organic farming, construction labor, and high school teaching. I recently retired from the board of directors of the West Virginia Highlands Conservancy (wvhighlands.org), and recently retired from the board of directors of the West Virginia Kanawha State Forest Foundation (ksff.org). I am still on the board of the Labor History Association and the West Virginia Environmental Education Association and recently joined the board of the West Virginia Civil Liberties Union. I am active in the campaign to stop the destructive practice of mountain top removal strip mining in the Appalachian Mountains. You may contact me at martinjul@aol.com or my blog samsbranch.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quotes from Two Books

  1. kitty says:

    “The NSA’s task of protecting us against malicious lunatics and fanatics is a far bigger and quite daunting one. We should thank them every day for their diligence.” I’d say, “Thanks but, no thanks.” we should always beware of those who want to “help” us. Just saying

Leave a Reply

